Dog breeds of the American Kennel Club: Terrier Group

Dog breeds of the American Kennel Club: Terrier Group

Dog breeds of the AKC: Terrier Group

The American Kennel Club (AKC) currently (2019) recognises 193 breeds of dog, which have been bred for different purposes. All dog breeds have been consigned to one of seven groups, according to factors such as size, shape, function and temperament. The seven dog groups recognised by the American Kennel Club are; Toy, Herding, Sporting, Non-sporting, Working, Terrier and Hound. The Manchester Terrier is recognised in Toy (Toy Group) and Standard (Terrier Group) varieties, but these are classified as the same breed.

Terrier Breeds

‘Terrier’ is derived from the Latin word Terra, meaning earth. Some terrier dog breeds date back to the Middle Ages. The original function of these dogs was to chase and catch vermin, something that is still inherent in the breeds today. This group of dogs are brave, tough, and hardy, as they are sometimes expected to hunt quarry much bigger than themselves, which may be either above and below ground. Paradoxically, they have a friendly, if not boisterous nature, and usually, make extremely good pets. Dog breeds in the Terrier Group are:


1. Airedale Terrier
2. American Hairless Terrier
3. American Staffordshire Terrier
4. Australian Terrier
5. Bedlington Terrier
6. Border Terrier
7. Bull Terrier
8. Cairn Terrier
9. Cesky Terrier
10. Dandie Dinmont Terrier
11. Glen of Imaal Terrier
12. Irish Terrier
13. Kerry Blue Terrier
14. Lakeland Terrier
15. Manchester Terrier (Standard)
16. Miniature Bull Terrier
17. Miniature Schnauzer
18. Norfolk Terrier
19. Norwich Terrier
20. Parson Russell Terrier
21. Rat Terrier
22. Russell Terrier
23. Scottish Terrier
24. Sealyham Terrier
25. Skye Terrier
26. Smooth Fox Terrier
27. Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier
28. Staffordshire Bull Terrier
29. Welsh Terrier
30. West Highland White Terrier
31. Wire Fox Terrier

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar