Dog breeds of the American Kennel Club: Hound Group

Dog breeds of the American Kennel Club: Hound Group

Dog breeds of the AKC: Hound Group

The American Kennel Club (AKC) currently (2019) recognises 193 breeds of dog, which have been bred for different purposes. All dog breeds have been consigned to one of seven groups, according to factors such as size, shape, function and temperament. The seven dog groups recognised by the American Kennel Club are; Toy, Herding, Sporting, Non-sporting, Working, Terrier and Hound.

Hound Breeds

Hound breeds were selectively bred to be used for hunting, using either by scent or by sight. While today few hounds are used for hunting purposes, the instinct still remains strong in all the hound breeds. Sighthounds tend to be large breeds as in the past they were expected to chase down large game such as deer, elk, moose, and wild boar.  Scenthounds were generally smaller breeds which were used to chase prey to ground.  Some of the medium-sized hound breeds would utilise both sight and scent to hunt game such as rabbits and foxes. Dog breeds in the Hound Group are:


  1. Afghan Hound
  2. American English Coonhound
  3. American Foxhound
  4. Azawak
  5. Basenji
  6. Basset Hound
  7. Beagle
  8. Black and Tan Coonhound
  9. Bloodhound
  10. Bluetick Coonhound
  11. Borzoi
  12. Cirneco Dell’ Etna
  13. Dachshund
  14. English Foxhound
  15. Grand Basset Griffon Vendeen
  16. Greyhound
  17. Harrier
  18. Ibizan Hound
  19. Irish Wolfhound
  20. Norwegian Elkhound
  21. Otterhound
  22. Petit Basset Griffon Vendeen
  23. Pharaoh Hound
  24. Plott
  25. Portuguese Podengo Pequeno
  26. Redbone Coonhound
  27. Rhodesian Ridgeback
  28. Saluki
  29. Scottish Deerhound
  30. Sloughi
  31. Treeing Walker Coonhound
  32. Whippet


Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar