Dog breeds of the American Kennel Club: Herding Group

Dog breeds of the American Kennel Club: Herding Group

Dog breeds of the AKC: Herding Group

The American Kennel Club (AKC) currently (2019) recognises 193 breeds of dog, which have been bred for different purposes. All dog breeds have been consigned to one of seven groups, according to factors such as size, shape, function and temperament. The seven dog groups recognised by the American Kennel Club are; Toy, Herding, Sporting, Non-sporting, Working, Terrier and Hound.

Herding Breeds

Herding Group breeds are those dogs that are associated with the herding and working of cloven-footed animals, that includes cattle, sheep, goats and even reindeer. The herding instinct is an intrinsic part of their make-up, regardless of whether they have ever had to do any or not. These types of dog usually have a weatherproof double coat to protect them from the worst of climatic conditions. In general, these intelligent dogs make excellent companions and good family pets. Dog breeds in the Herding Group are:


  1. Australian Cattle Dog
  2. Australian Shepherd
  3. Bearded Collie
  4. Beauceron
  5. Belgian Malinois
  6. Belgian Sheepdog
  7. Belgian Tervuren
  8. Bergamasco
  9. Berger Picard
  10. Border Collie
  11. Bouvier des Flandres
  12. Briard
  13. Canaan Dog
  14. Cardigan Welsh Corgi
  15. Collie
  16. Entlebucher Mountain Dog
  17. Finnish Lapphund
  18. German Shepherd Dog
  19. Icelandic Sheepdog
  20. Miniature American Shepherd
  21. Norwegian Buhund
  22. Old English Sheepdog
  23. Pembroke Welsh Corgi
  24. Polish Lowland Sheepdog
  25. Puli
  26. Pumi
  27. Pyrenean Shepherd
  28. Shetland Sheepdog
  29. Spanish Water Dog
  30. Swedish Vallhund

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar