American Kennel Club Dog breeds: Working Group

American Kennel Club Dog breeds: Working Group

Dog breeds of the AKC: Working Group

The American Kennel Club (AKC) which has acted as the United States purebred dog register since 1884 and currently (2019) recognises 193 breeds of dog, and like its other international counterparts has assigned each of its recognised breeds to a group. Currently, they use seven groups and those included in the Working dogs one are listed below.

Working Breeds

Working dogs are those breeds which have, down the centuries, been selectively bred to be utilised as either Guard dogs or Search & Rescue dogs. The working group consists of some of the most specialised breeds of dogs in the world, which have made them invaluable to human endeavour. Though highly intelligent, the size and strength of many breeds, mean they may not make the best pets for some people or families. Dog breeds in the Working Group are listed below:

Giant schnauzer

Some of the working dogs are rather large as this picture of a Giant schnauzer with a miniature Pony shows.
Image: Grigorita Ko/

Breeds Recognised by the AKC

  1. Akita
  2. Alaskan Malamute
  3. Anatolian Shepherd Dog
  4. Bernese Mountain Dog
  5. Black Russian Terrier
  6. Boerboel
  7. Boxer
  8. Bullmastiff
  9. Cane Corso
  10. Chinook
  11. Doberman Pinscher
  12. Dogue de Bordeaux
  13. German Pinscher
  14. Giant Schnauzer
  15. Great Dane
  16. Great Pyrenees
  17. Greater Swiss Mountain Dog
  18. Komondor
  19. Kuvasz
  20. Leonberger
  21. Mastiff
  22. Neapolitan Mastiff
  23. Newfoundland
  24. Portuguese Water Dog
  25. Rottweiler
  26. Samoyed
  27. Siberian Husky
  28. Standard Schnauzer
  29. Tibetan Mastiff
  30. St. Bernard

AKC website

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar