Dog breeds of the American Kennel Club: Sporting Group

Dog breeds of the American Kennel Club: Sporting Group

Dog breeds of the AKC: Sporting Group

The American Kennel Club (AKC) currently (2019) recognises 193 breeds of dog, which have been bred for different purposes. All dog breeds have been consigned to one of seven groups, according to factors such as size, shape, function and temperament. The seven dog groups recognised by the American Kennel Club are; Toy, Herding, Sporting, Non-sporting, Working, Terrier and Hound.

Image Credit: A7880S/

Sporting Breeds

Naturally active and alert, members of the Sporting Group include pointers, retrievers, setters and spaniels. Originally bred to find live game and/or retrieve it after it has been shot, many sporting breeds continue to participate in hunting and other field activities. In general, sporting dog breeds have a good temperament and are ideal companions, making them excellent all-round family dogs. Dog breeds in the Sporting Group are:


  1. American Water Spaniel
  2. Boykin Spaniel
  3. Brittany
  4. Chesapeake Bay Retriever
  5. Clumber Spaniel
  6. Cocker Spaniel
  7. Curly-Coated Retriever
  8. English Cocker Spaniel
  9. English Setter
  10. English Springer Spaniel
  11. Field Spaniel
  12. Flat-Coated Retriever
  13. German Shorthaired Pointer
  14. German Wirehaired Pointer
  15. Golden Retriever
  16. Gordon Setter
  17. Irish Red and White Setter
  18. Irish Setter
  19. Irish Water Spaniel
  20. Labrador Retriever
  21. Lagotto Romagnolo
  22. Nederlandse Kooikerhondje
  23. Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retriever
  24. Pointer
  25. Spinone Italiano
  26. Sussex Spaniel
  27. Vizsla
  28. Weimaraner
  29. Welsh Springer Spaniel
  30. Wirehaired Pointing Griffon
  31. Wirehaired Vizsla

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar